Happy Coffee Day! Making Homemade Cleaners

Hello Coffee Girls!  Thanks for stopping by.  I’ve got a pot of medium-roast Breakfast Blend on (and the kettle on for you tea lovers) – help yourself to a pumpkin scone while you’re here!

A few weeks ago I wrote about making Lotion Bars among other things.  I did in fact make them, BUT because I didn’t have a great measuring system for the beeswax, I’ve had to remelt them down and grate in some additional wax.  The oil left things extra oily and the bars were more malleable in my hand than they should be.  So the re-newed batch is setting up now, and I’ll share the recipe when I’ve mastered it. LOL

I found some other household cleaning recipes that I wanted to share.  I really have been thrilled with using Vinegar and Baking Soda for many household cleaning projects.

Here are a few recipes I found in my Homemade recipe book from Reader’s Digest:

Creamy Scrubbing Cleaner

2 cups baking soda
1/2 cup liquid castile soap
4 tsp vegetable glycerin
5 drops essential oil

Mix well and store in sealed glass jar.  The shelf life for this cleaner is 2 years!  (I get my baking soda at Sam’s Club – got my Dr. Bronner’s liquid castile soap at Kroger’s, and my vegetable glycerin at a local health food storeIf you use a scented castile soap, it probably isn’t necessary to add the essential oil for scent…)

All Purpose Cleaner

2 Tbsp vinegar
1 tsp. borax powder
1 cup hot distilled water + additional water
1/4 cup liquid castile soap
1 16 oz. spray bottle

Mix vinegar and borax in bottle.  Add 1 cup hot distilled water and shake until all is dissolved.  Add more water until almost full.  Add 1/4 cup liquid castile soap and swirl until mixed.  (I’ll just plug the peppermint castile soap as my favorite cleaning smell.  It is fresh and clean and I love cleaning with it. )

Liquid Fabric Softener

2 cups baking soda
2 cups white vinegar
4 cups distilled water
10 drops essential oil

Stir all together and store in plastic lidded container.   Use 1/4 cup per wash load.  (Plain vinegar alone is a great fabric softener, but if you would like to add a nice scent to your load, this liquid recipe may work well for you!)

Hope you enjoy these recipes.  I really enjoy using more natural products in my home and spending MUCH LESS money on cleaners and cleaning products.

Do you have any homemade cleaner recipes you rely on?

*If you’re on the fence about trying homemade cleaners – you’re not alone.  Try starting with one recipe and see how it works for you.   No need to go gung ho with switching out every cleaner until you see how one works for you. =)


20 Responses to “Happy Coffee Day! Making Homemade Cleaners”

  1. Marsha Baker Says:

    I love these ideas! I just made a laminate floor cleaner yesterday but need to try it out today…will let you know about that one. Wondering about the essential oils in the fabric softener…it doesn’t make things oily? It’s just there for fragrance? Keep ‘em comin’ Honey – these are great ideas and sooo frugal too. Thanks for sharing your research. Would LOVE to join you for coffee and a pumpkin scone this morning!!!

  2. The Queen Mommy Says:

    The essential oil is in such small quantity, that it really is just for fragrance. It’s pretty concentrated so it isn’t necessary to use much. =) Lavender, Eucalyptus, Peppermint – I’ve seen them recommended for use in cleaning products – but if you go to a health food store, you’ll probably find a variety of scents available for your preference!

  3. Star Says:

    Love hearing about all your homemade recipes…and that you try them out first, sometimes I am a little leary of them. When I get myself organized around here, I will have to try them out! Have a great weekend!

  4. Jo Says:

    How timely – I was thinking earlier about researching some of the homemade cleaners and maybe switching when my current batch runs out. We had to clean our shower head a few weeks ago, and soaking it in vinegar worked so much better than anything else – I’m wondering what else I could stop using the expensive stuff for?!

    Have a lovely weekend.

    Best wishes,
    Jo

  5. LydiaCate Says:

    Mmmm, pumpkin scones! Thanks!
    Great recipes…I think I’ll try them. thanks for the tips on where to get the ingredients that really helps.
    Have a great weekend!

  6. Kaylene Says:

    fun tips for homemade cleaners. I haven’t taken that plunge yet but I am getting more and more interested.

  7. Marie Says:

    Hello there! Thank you for the pumpkin scone, it was delicious! I enjoyed reading through your home made cleaning recipes. I need to hang around you more often to glean these money-saving tips! Not to mention that it’s a healthier way to clean. I have to wear a gas mask with the stuff I use.

    Blessings!
    Marie

  8. Cindy Says:

    That is a great idea; maybe I will give it a try at some point. Or if I’m in a pinch and have run out of laundry detergent :)
    Hope your soap sets up nicely this time!
    Thanks for the invitation to visit and for the pumpkin scones. What a perfect fall Friday treat! :)

  9. Erin Says:

    Pumpkin scones, yummm. I love to clean with baking soda and vinegar. In fact, I buy vinegar in bulk from Costco. I feel a little silly, but it gets used.

    Happy CGC.

  10. Jamie DeMumbrum Says:

    Thanks for the recipes! I’ve used vinegar in laundry before, but I always kind of disliked the smell. I didn’t know I could put Good Smelling Stuff in with it! Great tips.
    Happy Friday!

  11. The Queen Mommy Says:

    I’ve found when using white vinegar in the laundry – if I have a “vinegar-y” smell, that one single rinse & spin cycle takes care of it. I try not to overdo it, and once the clothes are dry, I don’t smell the vinegar anymore… I especially love it for towels and sheets – makes them SOOO soft!!!

  12. Cari Says:

    hmmm…I will try these…thanks so much for posting your recipes. I used to make my own soap and became a big fan of both shea butter and goat’s milk bars. I still have my old recipes somewhere, maybe I will hunt them up and send them to you!

  13. Marsha Baker Says:

    Here’s one for homemade laminate floor cleaner…it doesn’t get any easier, or better, than this. I tried it today for the first time and my floor looks wonderful!
    1 cup water
    1 cup rubbing alcohol
    1 cup white vinegar
    1 T. liquid dishwashing soap
    Mix and put in spray bottle – use like you would purchased cleaner. Enjoy!

  14. Debbie Says:

    Cool Beans, Mom! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!

  15. Sulwyn Says:

    Thanks for sharing! I have some chemical sensitivities, so having good recipes for homemade cleaners to switch out to is wonderful!

  16. joyceandnorm Says:

    I’ll have to give it a try one of these days. Thanks for the recipes!

  17. Marie Says:

    You are very ambitious to find and try all these recipes…I’m afraid I’m very lazy and take the easy way out and just buy the premade stuff by I admire somebody that will go the extra mile and do stuff like that!

  18. Melissa Says:

    I use baking soda to clean my sink. I’ve also used it for other purposes. I have a book that tells 101 different uses for baking soda. :)

    Hope the lotion bar recipe works out for you.

    -Melissa

  19. I’m Singin’ In the Rain… « The Queen Mommy's Cafe Says:

    […] Cafe Posts Great Preschool Snack IdeasHappy Coffee Day! Making Homemade CleanersThe Queen MommyContact Me!Saturday Morning […]

  20. Kelly C Says:

    I love the creamy scrubbing cleaner recipe it sounds great, I will have to make some of that this weekend.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

