I’m Singin’ In the Rain…

Making your home sing Mondays

Have you ever tried to actually Sing in the Rain?  Usually I’m a bit “froggier” during wet weather so I don’t sing with as much gusto, but I’m usually singing in my head at least…

I’ve found that doing my “chores” around the house is SOOOOOOO much better if I am listening to praise & worship music – or tappin’ your foot contemporary Christian music.  I get in a “groove” and if I’m singing while I work, the work seems to go by much faster.  I’m amazed at what I can accomplish in a short amount of time, if I’m thinking about what I’m singing rather than how many times I have to wash dishes every day…

I’ve also learned, that scent has an effect on my cleaning power, too.  Since I’ve been using more naturally derived – homemade cleaners, I enjoy cleaning more.  Much of my cleaning creations include a peppermint scent – which is just happy and bright – and doesn’t give me a headache!  Peppermint gives me a real boost – it’s energizing – and very pleasant.  There are other essential oils – like grapefruit, lavendar, eucalyptus – that will also leave a fresh scent that offers a bit of aromatherapy…

On a day when I’m down in the dumps or feeling depressed – honestly, if I will myself to get up and grab my homemade cleaner – not only do I accomplish something, but I actually feel brighter in spirit…

You can find more information about aromatherapy and essential oils here:

Mountain Rose Herbs

Aura Cacia

(But while we’re talking about peppermint – if you’re a big fan – check out this Holiday Peppermint Cake recipe!!!  Mmmmmmm)

4 Responses to “I’m Singin’ In the Rain…”

  1. Jodi Says:

    I too need some music to put a little joy in my steps and a little shake in my mopping! I feel much better after I clean sometimes too (I am one of those weird ones that likes to clean!:) Have a great day!

  2. angie Says:

    I so agree the wonderful praise and worsip music makes house work go by quicker here as well

  3. Joyfull Says:

    Love it! I’m inspired already! Truly scents and sounds can make a heart more joyful. What better time than in the midst of our home tasks. Thanks for sharing the links!

  4. momstheword Says:

    I remember even as I child I liked to sing or whistle or listen to music while I worked. It’s a great uplifter! Love the idea of the cleaners, peppermint would be lovely.

    Did you know that you won my blog makeover? I sent you an email and commented on your other blog but haven’t heard from you yet. So I am thinking maybe you don’t even know yet? Tara will be trying to contact you so hopefully I sent her the correct email.

    Let me know if you don’t hear from her as maybe I sent her the wrong email. Oh, and thank you for linking up today!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

