Do you Remember That Smell?

My grandmother wore a certain perfume – and although she passed away almost 22 years ago, whenever I get a whiff of it – I instantly remember her.  As we grow up, I think many of us could attest to the impact that our sense of smell has on us.

A newborn’s sense of smell helps him/her identify his mother and follow to his/her necessary food source.  In fact, within just a few days of birth, a newborn will show preference for his/her own mother’s breast milk than another’s, and plays a significant role in bonding between mother and infant.

Not only is smell linked to building relationships, it is also tied strongly to our memory. (Hence, the instant visualization of my grandma when I smell her perfume!)

Using Essential Oils in your home – whether you find one scent that you really love, or get creative and mix and match your own scents – can leave a lasting impression on your family members and anyone who visits your home.  While Aromatherapy is more than just burning a vanilla candle and should be left to trained medical professionals, the use of essential oils to add to the pleasant aroma of your home is easy and inexpensive!

NOTE: Some essential oils can be downright dangerous if used during pregnancy!!!  They may be simply irritating – but some can be plain toxic.  Here’s a handy list of essential oils to avoid during pregnancy – and ALWAYS consult your health care professional before using essential oils while pregnant!

Although they are derived from nature, the misuse of essential oils can be harmful.  Just because it is “natural” doesn’t mean it’s perfectly safe – I mean, really – Would you eat poison ivy?

On the other hand, using essential oils throughout your home in a variety of purposes, can be helpful and pleasing. For a list of benefits and uses, click here: Essential Oils Profiles

Peppermint for cleaning (at least in my home) tends to keep my brain focused on the task at hand, gives me a lift in my spirit, and really helps me think less about the “ick” factor while I’m cleaning.  The beneficial effects of peppermint are said to be: Refreshment, Stimulation.  I would have to agree.

Now, here’s a recipe for a combination of oils said the offset PMS symptoms.  I have not tried this yet – but I’m going to gather the ingredients together so I can!  Anything that helps!!!  I once bought a nighttime body lotion advertised as a help to sleep, and Clary Sage and Lavendar were two of the included scents.  I can tell you that using the cream, absolutely helped me relax and I tend to lean towards trying this from my previous experience.

That’s the great thing about Essential Oils.  You can see what works for you.  Visit your local health food store and find their selection of Essential Oils.  Take some time sampling and smelling – walk away every few minutes and find some coffee to smell if you can to give your nose a break.  Or sample some creams and lotions or soaps with scents and see what you think or how they make you feel.  I tend to avoid Lavender.  I don’t care for it a whole lot, except when it is combined with other oils…

If you decide to use an Essential Oil on your skin, it is really important to add a drop or two to another “carrier” oil – like olive oil or coconut oil.  Direct contact can be very irritating – Essential Oils are highly concentrated from plants, and if you have any allergies, you’re likely to have a reaction of some kind.  Diluting the Essential oil with another oil, provides the benefits of the essential plant, with the buffer of the carrier oil.

Here are some great online Essential Oil sources:

Auracacia

Mountain Rose Herbs

100% Pure Essential Oils

Don’t just take my word for it – do some research, check some books from your library – and find how if the addition of Essential Oils can benefit you!

Smell ya later!


2 Responses to “Do you Remember That Smell?”

  1. TeaMouse Says:

    Smells can take us back so easily. I always remember the smell of my Granny’s sheets and how the linen closet smelled of moth balls and I loved it!

    Recently I gave up using the traditional cleaners for chemical free Method products. I love cleaning the bathroom and smelling mint and lavender, how lovely!

  2. Mary Lutz Says:

    I love smelling good and I love a good smelling home! I can also attest to how scents are our greatest memory trigger. My mom used to use a certain lotion when I was growing up; that scent still reminds me of those days and I can still see her getting ready for church in my grandpa’s house in New Mexico where I grew up, when I smell that lotion.

    I’m definitely going to have to try the scented cleansers now!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

