The Aftermath…

So, I took Friday & Monday off this past weekend – our anniversary and my birthday… 

CaaLalla did indeed have a stomach virus Friday, which made things somewhat interesting and meant we needed to stay close to home.  Saturday morning she appeared to be better and we even were able to decorate a gingerbread house together that afternoon at a nearby church.  Okay, she helped me put fruit loops on the roof for about 3 minutes, and then she was done.  But I had fun anyway. 

Sunday afternoon, despite the cold, rainy weather, we loaded up in the van and drove to Columbus to go Christmas shopping at Polaris Place.  There is a Target Greatland there that makes me drool just to think of it!  After a very successful time of shopping, Roy got KT loaded in the van and pulled up to the door so we could load the rest.  We all got settled and the van wouldn’t start.  Everytime Roy turned the key in the ignition, the van would not start and the anti-theft alarm would go off – horn honking, lights flashing.  When any door was opened – the same.  So, we’re over an hour away from home, and Roy’s parents weren’t home. 

He called AAA, and has a difficult time communicating our location because all of their computers are down.  After a long, frustrating conversation, he was told it would be 60 minutes before anyone could come.  So, I got the two princesses out and into a cart to shop some more.  Roy had to stay outside to keep an eye out for the cavalry…  An hour later, the guy pulls up – just so happens his battery tester is dead (so you send a guy to help jump a van and your battery tester is dead???)  So, the van still won’t start and the guy ends up leaving. 

A tow truck is called – another 60 minute wait.  By this time, Princess CaaLalla is tired of shopping and has only had a short nap; Princess KT is very tired of being strapped into her carseat so we sit at the little snack bar and eat a small pizza.  CaaLalla, wearing Pullups, has soaked a couple of pairs of pants by this time, and we’re down to the last ones.  KT has had the last of the formula I brought with us.  Roy has been in & out of the cold for a couple of hours now, and finally the tow truck arrives.  Roy & CaaLalla load up into the tow truck, while KT & I wait for Roy’s nephew to come pick us up.  Another hour and he’s there with a toasty warm Blazer and we head for home.

Checking the van at home – now the lights aren’t flashing and the horn sounds like a dying cow – probably an alternator.  But at least we’re home – we weren’t stranded on the side of the road for several hours in cold, then freezing rain.  And we’re all pretty well exhausted.

Monday – the Queen’s birthday.  Turning 38 isn’t a big deal (until my baby brother calls and says I’m 3.8 decades old – the rascal!) because I really don’t feel my age at all.  I see the gray hairs and the deepening facial lines, but I feel like I’m still in my 20’s, so my birthday doesn’t phase me.  Actually, I love my birthday, and feel like everywhere I go the doors should be thrown open and trumpets should announce my entrance (and you wonder where my girls get their “princess” identities from???)  We ladies were able to meet Roy for lunch and get some things at Sams Club and on my way home I got myself a lovely Peppermint White Mocha from Starbucks. 

CaaLalla had been like a tornado all morning – she put a screwdriver in the toilet, she’d pulled the floor rugs out of her bedroom into the hallway after stripping her bed of everything but the fitted sheet, all of her books were thrown around the living room – but she fell asleep while we were in line at Starbucks, but I did treat myself to an extra shot of espresso… 

Roy brought home a lovely little chocolate cake with fudge icing for my birthday and we each have a piece before going to bed.  And being awakened by KT, who now has the stomach virus and is being administered pedialyte in small doses every few minutes (as directed by a nurse) in hopes of avoiding dehydration and a visit to a dr…  She’s got a low fever, and is just now waking from her nap.  The Queen has been summoned…

Posted in Family, Life, The Queen. Tags: , . Comments Off on The Aftermath…
