On the Anvil

Author Max Lucado is one of my all-time favorites.  He draws – no he PAINTS clear pictures with words about life and about God and how God sees us.  One of his best books – in my opinion – is titled On The Anvil.

This is where I find myself these days.  Right there in the heat & the fire & the hammering & the banging around.  On one hand – I’m grateful.  I do want to be better – I do want to be useful – and I do want to bring glory to God.  Up to this point, I would say that in many ways I have fallen WAAAAAY short in that respect, and it’s time for some shaping up.  So for that I’m very grateful. On the other hand – WHEW is it HOT around here!!!  And GEEEEEZ all the hammering can be rather painful!  But it’s obvious I need it…

Bang! – Oh, there goes a big chip off my shoulder!!!

Whack! Whack! Whack! – Ow, there go some of my bad attitudes…

Tap, tap, tap. Tap! Tap! Tap!  TAP! TAP! TAP! (I don’t want to let go of this so stop it already…)  Nope, He just keeps tapping until I let it go and it falls off.  This is the part that’s the hardest…

Remember my post about my sharp little tongue – well, that’s where I’m feeling it the most lately.  That’s a good thing – but wow, it really sucks.  My brain disengages and my mouth starts flapping.  I hate it.  I want to be wise as a serpent and gentle as a dove – but I’m not there yet, therefore the need for the time On The Anvil…

Posted in Faith, Life. Tags: , . Comments Off on On the Anvil
