When It Rains

So we’re sitting in church this morning, and the lights flickered a few times. A storm was above us, pouring down rain. At just the right moment in a pause while the pastor was making announcements, huge cracks of thunder broke in, and a collective groan was heard through the auditorium. Thankfully, the power stayed on, but it was just one more reminder that we are never in control…

Speaking of which, my baby had her 1st birthday party on Saturday. Pictures are forthcoming. She enjoyed all of the special attention, and one of her favorite gifts was a rooster flashlight which actually makes her crack up. So it’s my favorite toy, too. She got 1 whole layer cake to herself and thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m still getting cake out of her nose. That’s the way I like 1st birthdays – big, crazy, fun. She survived her first year of life, and is a real trooper! YAY Tater!!!

In other news, my Father in Law, Joe, is having triple bypass surgery on Tuesday. He was in the ER last week with some shoulder pain & arm tingling. He had a heart stent placed in January, and it is now 80% blocked. Until this evening, we were under the impression that he was only having one vein bypassed, and we were informed that it is indeed a triple bypass. It’s all rather nervewracking! My brother in law, Robbie, is in training out of town all week; my sister in law works long hours at a medical facility; Roy’s schedule will hopefully make for some flexibility this week, but we aren’t sure; and school is not in session, so my niece & nephew (Mo & Larry) still need taken care of. Usually Supermamaw does that – and they are getting some help from a babysitter up the street, but we’ll see how it all plays out. I may do some pinch hitting for a few hours. I’m thinking Benadryl may come in handy! (and I’m TOTALLY joking – it’s just a fantasy)…

We’ve had a really cool black pigeon visiting our newly landscaped yard. We’ve extended landscaping out into the front yard in preparation to install a new front porch (eventually) – and it’s like we have a fairytale in our front yard and I get to be Snow White. We’ve got squirrels, chipmunks, doves, bunnies, and pigeons. And there is this new ALL BLACK pigeon that keeps coming back. We’ve named it Pat as we’re unsure if it’s a boy or a girl. He’s gorgeous! He’s got irridescent purple on his neck and is very elegant – as far as pigeons go. We can actually get fairly close without spooking him. I love that. Roy has always wanted pigeons, so he’s especially attached to our new visitor/tenant. Since we can’t have chickens, pigeons are the next option. I even have pics of Pat that I’ll post…

Posted in Life. Tags: , . Comments Off on When It Rains
