Wow – It’s Kinda Weird. Life Goes On.

So this is the first year that I ALMOST forgot what 9/11 felt like.  Well, let’s just say that I am not feeling it so acutely as I have in past years.  I could actually watch images on TV this morning without that sick, sinking feeling in my gut.  I think it’s ridiculous that the memorial isn’t making progress – and I read something today that said the generation or two before us would have rebuilt the Twin Towers a foot higher just to show the rest of the world what we’re made of.  I liked that.

After saturating myself with news for hours on end for weeks after 9/11/2001, I saw images that are permanently etched on my brain – but this is the first year that they don’t haunt me.  It’s not that I’m not affected, it’s just different somehow.

Probably because Life Goes On.  Not to sound callous, but with everything happening with Caden, a really busy schedule and girls who like to play with my hairspray or splash in the toilet, or want me to reread the same book for the 16th time, or I have to TRY to get my 2 quizzes, 7 financial worksheets, and 1 midterm done tonight all for 1 of the 2 classes I’m taking, getting dishes done, laundry done, and packed to visit my parents this weekend – different things happen on an hourly basis that do consume my thoughts & energies.  That’s how time heals.

It doesn’t take away the horror we all felt then, it just allows the pain to ease and the feelings to process – other joys fill the void, other sorrows to feel more sensitively – and Life Goes On.

Posted in Life. Tags: , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Wow – It’s Kinda Weird. Life Goes On.”

  1. Dawn Says:

    UGH! I just wrote a comment and it erased it! UGH UGH UGH!!! What I said was…I was a little more emotional this year than in previous years…maybe because I was in New York this summer. Ground Zero was so sad…but I wa a little angry that a memorial wasn’t up yet. I was able to talk with my government class about 9/11, we actual spent the entire class yesterday on the subject. It is good hat people haven’t forgotten about it!


Comments are closed.

