Learning to Let Go…

Not one of my specialties – letting go.  Even when I was little and my dad would get stationed (Air Force) somewhere new, it would take me a good 12 months to adjust to my new setting and let go of where we used to be and embrace where we were.  Maybe I just didn’t like change.  Maybe the intensity of my nature made it hard for me to say good-bye to the friends I’d made.  I don’t know what it was.

But now that I’m an adult – a wife – a mommy – Letting Go is no easier.  I do NOT roll with the punches very well, and it’s something I really want to change in myself.  That means some hard work, and lots of practice – therefore – all of the recent challenges (small, though they may be) in my life.

Georgie is sick today – some kind of tummy bug.  NOT pleasant.  NOT much sleep.  But somehow, my attitude is actually GOOD today.  (Shhhh – don’t say it out loud…)  I’m getting  laundry done – getting my email caught up & in box cleaned out – going to have some time with Roy this morning.  And today I don’t feel so overwhelmed by laundry or anything else, for that matter.

Have you SEEN the new Tide commercial?  (Disclaimer: I’m not advertising for Tide – I don’t use the stuff, and won’t ever use it again.)  The one with the mountain of laundry rolling through yards – smashing fences, and building as it gets closer to the “mom” in the commercial.  That’s normally how I feel about most housework…

Well, maybe not every day – just those days when I have a throbbing headache, a whiny 3 year old, and a sick 15 month old…

So it’s all “normal” and I’m just reacting.  The point is, I want to learn how to ACT rather than REACT more often.  So that’s a project for ME…  We’ll see how it goes, and I’ll try to keep you updated…

Posted in Life. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Learning to Let Go…”

  1. Dawn Says:

    First of all, I LOVE your new site! The pink is pretty. 🙂 Just take it day by day my friend. I feel like I have fallen short as a mother the past week…but yesterday I decided to make a new day…and start over. It takes a lot of reminding (myself) to calm down and not worry about things. To make lists and try to stick with it…mostly. To help JJ with homework…and let him still have a little fun. To read to Bella…but still take a little mommy time. It’s a constant battle, but we are MOMS and we can do it! 🙂 Thinking of you and missing you!
    Dawn


Comments are closed.

