At the Well – Having a Thankful Heart

Laurie is hosting our discussion this week  I love her blog  check it out when you have some time!

at-the-wellThis week’s discussion questions:
#1- How do you give thanks during difficult times?
#2 – Share with your readers a testimony of how God brought you thru a difficult time.
#3 – What is the most memorable Thanksgiving you have experienced?

I think this is a great topic to discuss –  it was very much the subject of our Sunday sermon yesterday and our pastor shared some really great thoughts on the subject.

#1  How do you give thanks during difficult times?

I am learning that giving thanks during difficult times absolutely changes everything.  It’s easy to give thanks when things are great.  When kids are healthy, hubby’s job is secure, bills are paid, etc.  It takes PRACTICE to give thanks during difficult times.  That’s the key.

I Thessalonians 5:18 – in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. Something about this verse struck me yesterday that I hadn’t noticed or paid much attention to before.  Notice it says, “This is the will of God…”

How many times have I wondered what God’s will is?  HELLOOOO!!!  Here’s a good place to start.  Give thanks ALWAYS. Yes, for the sleepless nights with teething & fevers;  For the dark nights of financial insecurity.  I wonder about my sister in law, and my nephew Cartman, who has leukemia. And whose oldest daughter is now sick with a virus (fever, vomiting, the works…) How IN THE WORLD would I give thanks for that?  That convicts me cuz I know what my instant reaction would be.  Yet I still read that somehow I would need to find a way to give God thanks in spite of the difficult circumstances.  But would I?  I can’t say that I would – and it would likely take a LOT of work for me to give praise.

I guess this is where resting in the CHARACTER of God – TRUSTING in the character of God lends itself to me.

Jehovah-Rapha – Our Healer – we give thanks for the healing that flows from Your Hands.  We ask you to let it fall freely on my nephew and my niece – and thank you for your concern and care for each one of us. Give their mama & daddy strength and grace – let them Fall on you, and Rest in you – the One who gives the very Breath of Life.

#2 – Share with your readers a testimony of how God brought you thru a difficult time.

Narrowing this down to one difficult time is not easy.  My rose colored glasses haven’t worked for some time.  LOL.  Our family has undergone a number of major changes and has faced many battles since January in practically every arena of our lives.  There were many dark days that I honestly prayed God would just take me so it would be over and I would not have to feel any pain. However, I am learning through it all that a thankful heart requires practice – but that thankfulness changes things.  Maybe not circumstances (father-in-law’s cancer followed by a double bypass, job changes, schedule changes, my nephew’s cancer, spiritual battles in my marriage & home), but certainly attitude.

Acknowledging God as Sovereign, as the Creator who gives and takes away, and understanding that His Hand guides every moment and movement in my life (Job 42:2 – I know that You can do everything, and that no purpose of Yours can be withheld from You.), and letting go of the reins and thanking Him for his love for me (Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not evil, to give you a future and a hope)is a key to finding a way for me to practice thankfulness.

THAT is what I can be thankful for: GOD’S FAITHFULNESS despite the uncertainty of life.

Lamentations 3:22-23 – Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed [nothing is stronger than God’s mercy],

because His compassions fail not [He never grows weary despite our continuous cries].

They are new every morning [every morning starts with a new refreshing];

Great is Your Faithfulness [which is endless].

If I cannot find a way to be thankful for my circumstances, I can start by being thankful for His Faithfulness.

#3 – What is the most memorable Thanksgiving you have experienced?

I’ve had many memorable Thanksgivings.  Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. It probably represents FAMILY most to me of all the holidays that are in place.  Each year truly brings something more memorable than the last.  Last year – it was special because Roy & I were able to celebrate our own family – each other & our two lovely girls that God has blessed us with.  I remember how awesome it was to realize that I was now a wife & mom as I always wanted to be.  Despite sleep deprivation and lingering post partum depression, I was thankful for the people that God brought into my life and how each of them blessed my heart differently.

This year, as we have experienced so many trials, I can be thankful for the strength God gives – the grace He pours out – the love He bestows – and for being the Lord God Almighty despite, well, life.

4 Responses to “At the Well – Having a Thankful Heart”

  1. Marsha Baker Says:

    PREACH IT SISTER! :-} WOW – your precious thoughts here stirred me to tears…yes, in midst of the storm, we really do have many ‘rainbows’ to be thankful for…if we but just look for them. Thanks for sharing this – you are sure to be an enormous encouragement to everyone who gets to read it. Can’t ‘top’ being thankful for God’s mighty Faithfulness to each of us.

  2. momstheword Says:

    You are so right. We can always trust in the Lord’s faithfulness! It is hard sometimes to be thankful in all circumstances. I, too, have a loved one with cancer (one of my brothers has terminal cancer), but we never know how God is going to use that illness in our lives and in their lives. Another brother is also ill due to his heart, and I have seen some real growth in him and in his walk with the Lord.

  3. Laurie Adams Says:

    Thank you for joining us over At The Well today and sharing your heart of gratefulness! I loved what you said…

    “THAT is what I can be thankful for: GOD’S FAITHFULNESS despite the uncertainty of life.”

    God is so faithful to us even in the lows of life. Certainly you have experienced that as I read of some of the trials you have overcome. Praise God that He has carried you thru.

    -Blessings, Laurie

  4. Patty Wysong Says:

    Yes! Thanking God for all things, in all circumstances IS God’s will! Great truth here! …and yet we wander around wondering God’s will for us is. LoL–thanking Him and praising Him is a great place to start. 😉


Comments are closed.

