Be Kind in 2009

So my goal – my commitment – my resolution for the year is to BE KIND IN 2009.

It is something I will have to practice – A LOT – and something that challenges me. I am not “kind” by nature.  I tend to be more pointed, harsh – even mean.

I must be kind to myself.  Give myself “a break” even if I don’t think I deserve it – paint my toenails with glittery polish, soak in the bathtub with a favorite book or magazine (til I’m pruney!) when I should could be doing chores, enjoying every sip of my still-HOT tea while my girls empty their toy box all over the living room knowing it can be cleaned up.  I must take care of myself – make better food choices, move more, take my vitamins, get my rest instead of striving (and failing) to have a spotless house.  When I’m not kind to myself, it’s much harder for me to be kind to others.

I must be kind to others.  Sigh. That means thinking before I speak (which requires some major doing – but hey, I’ve got a Big God who can work miracles).  Thinking of others and being considerate – Considering my tone and the words I use before they spew out of my mouth like hot, molten lava.   I must defeat my endless interrupted-sleep-inducing-fatigue and take 5 deep breaths before I do or say anything.  I must ask for God’s help every single step of the way – cuz I don’t do so good on my own.

I must follow Christ’s example.  His kindness outshines the kindest…  I must look for his footprints ahead of me instead of just barging on ahead and trampling people in my wake.

Ephesians 4:32

And be kind to one another, (this is an action – something I can do)

tenderhearted, (this is internal – something I can be)

forgiving one another, (this is both proactive and reactive – something I must practice)

even as God in Christ forgave you. (um, yeah – no excuses here…)


So, this is my challenge for 2009.  Not just a resolution to forget next week.  Not just a goal that can be mastered and then put away.

7 Responses to “Be Kind in 2009”

  1. Marsha Baker Says:

    Bless you Darlin! These are all great thoughts and I know you can do this…cause we can do ALL things through Christ, right? More power to you Girl! A great plan – may God bless you richly and return doublefold
    to you, what you give away. In kindness…Smooches!!

  2. tabitha Blue Says:

    Beautiful!! I think I may borrow this one from you!!!! Happy New Year!

    🙂
    ~Tabitha~

    freshmommyblog.com

  3. Rebecca Says:

    Yeah…I find a have a faster mouth than I can keep up with too. I’m really trying hard to stop that so I feel your pain 😀

    ~*~Rebecca~*~
    http://www.copperbrickroad.com

  4. Maria M Says:

    Extremely well said. It sounds like you really have thought this through. You are absolutely right when you say that you have to take care of yourself first. If I don’t take care of my basic needs at least, I cannot be the mother or wife I’d like to be. I wish you all the best in your challenge in 2009. I have a feeling that you’ll accomplish what you want.

  5. convwmoms Says:

    Wow, Extremely well said! It seems like you have it all planned out. I agree with you. You have to take care of yourself first. I find that if I don’t take care of at least my basic needs, I cannot be the mother or wife I’d like to be. I have a feeling you will accomplish all you set out to accomplish with your challenge in 2009. Good luck!
    http://www.conversationswithmoms.com

  6. lifesorganizedchaos Says:

    Love your post! Great resolution.

  7. Jen Says:

    I think you are well on your way… Every time I speak/email/blog with you, I already think you are super kind.

    I know how hard it is to be kind to yourself. We never would let others “speak” to us the way we “speak” to ourself!

    Best wishes!

    Jen


Comments are closed.

