A Few of My Favorite Things

So we’re under a Winter Storm Warning – predicting 8-14″ of snow for us.  I can’t complain, though.  My dear friend, Dawn, who lives in Idaho told me this week they’ve had 70″ of snow since December 17.  Almost SIX FEET of snow in 3 weeks.  So, no complaining here.  Curly has decided she wants to go sledding – we’ll see what happens…

On days like these, when going outside for anything other than shoveling snow is just NOT an option, I like to put on a big pot of potato soup, get some coffee brewing or hot water for tea, and take a hot soak in the tub.  I used to do this much more often before I became a mom, but I’m making time to enjoy bubble baths again and WOW does it feel great!

I have always ritualized baths.  It was one room in the house that I could tune everything out.  Lock the door.  Turn the vent/fan on.  Fill the tub until the mirror fogs up and sink into a tub that sometimes overflows with bubbles.  Yep – I’m a girly-girl when it comes to baths.  Warm Vanilla Sugar scented bubbles relax but don’t overpower.  And always – always – always – my favorite magazine or a good bookI like to read long enough to go way beyond “pruney” – sometimes even til the water is cool.

This is usually when I  pay attention to things – pamper myself – deep conditioning for my hair (1/2 cup mayonnaise, or 2 beaten eggs, or 2 Tbsp Olive oil – wrapped up in plastic wrap for the duration of the bath), special foot treatments (a good foot scrub followed by a cracked heel treatment), and of course, a manicure & pedicure.

A deep moisturizing hand cream is really essential for me – being a stay at home mom with my hands in soapy water, cleaning, even baby wipes – I can get some really rough skin.  So using a good night hand cream after a bath and before bed is one way to battle that.  (So is soaking my fingers in some olive oil when I don’t have any hand cream.)  This goes for foot creams, too! Slather on some thick foot cream or heel treatment and put on some thick socks, or even wrap in plastic wrap underneat the socks for 15 minutes for extra conditioning.

Keeping my toenails polished is something I do – especially during winter when only Roy sees them…  (And in the summer, wearing an especially bright or funky color just lifts my mood.  Usually I stick with pinks & mauves, and more recently burgundiesWe do have a bottle of blue frost and one shimmery glitter in our current collection of colors.

Slathering on a nice night-time lotion or body cream is an extra bonus.  Aromatherapy is not just a pretty word.  Bath & Body Works Aromatherapy Sleep Lavendar Vanilla is one of the best I’ve ever used, and I honestly wake up after a more restful night’s sleep when I’ve used it.

Drinking a cup of herbal night-time tea is always nice, too.  I enjoy Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime tea or Bigelow’s Sweet Dreams tea (chamomile being the primary ingredient in each).  It doesn’t have to be a “night time” tea, but any blend that soothes and relaxes.

So Be Kind in 2009 – and be kind to yourself.  Spend an hour using your favorite products either to refresh or relax you.  If you don’t have any particular favorites – try one or two of these suggestions and let me know what you think!

2 Responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things”

  1. Nana Says:

    Ummmmm. I love hot baths. Potato Soup, Sleepytime tea. It all sounds good to me. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Debbie Says:

    Hi Debbie. Boy, you go all out for your baths. LOL I’m lucky to get long enough to go to the bathroom. It never fails, as soon as I shut the door and start to sit down, someone knocks on the door. We must all be on the same peeing schedule. LOL


Comments are closed.

