At the Well – I Corinthians 7:5 challenge *Updated*

I have 2 separate blogging posts today – don’t want anybody to miss anything, so I divided them with my banner below…

at-the-well

She’s BA-AAAACK…  Chelsey from At the Well… In Pursuit of Titus 2 is back with an updated website and new schedule of memes…  Along with completing the 1 Corinthians 7:5 Challenge, I’ve been waiting for this blog to return from hiatus, and I’m excited to see all of the changes.  Right now, she has some giveaways as she’s launching her new site.  She’s starting the Monday meme today!!!

at-the-well-monday

When you read the Scripture found in Titus 2: 2-5, how do you see this playing out in your own life?

“But as for you, speak the things which are proper for sound doctrine: that the older men be sober, reverent, temperate, sound in faith, in love, in patience; the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things— that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed. Titus 2: 1-5

So this is an area I struggle with.  I lived without authority (even the Lord’s) for a long time and didn’t get married until I was 33.  I developed a lot of “ways” that were not submissive to the Lord, let alone anyone else.  Before getting married, I swore I’d never change my last name in order to keep my “identity” – that changed when Roy asked me (very nicely, by the way) to change my name and I agreed to that without much of a fight.  I don’t regret it – but it was just a sign of a way thinking that had developed over many years in my life.  Submitting myself to “a man” was just not something I wanted to do.  Despite the command in Scripture to do so.  It is taking a lot of patience – both by the Lord, and my husband – for those thinking ways to change, and resulting actions, as well.  Wanting to be a wife & mom, but NOT wanting to be the kind of wife & mom God wants me to be does NOT work well…  So, those things are changing – those attitudes, and hopefully the actions that follow.

Psalm 1 : 1-2

Blessed is the man
Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly,
Nor stands in the path of sinners,
Nor sits in the seat of the scornful;
But his delight
is in the law of the LORD,
And in His law he meditates day and night.

What are your areas of strength? Of weakness?

Strengths:   A strong desire to please the Lord, and to submit to His calling in every area of my life.  Commitment to my marriage and family to be the kind of wife & mom that I am called to be.

Weaknesses:   Pride.  Stubbornness.  Selfishness.  Sharp tongue.  Hard areas in my heart.

If you could set some sort of goal in relation to this Scripture, what would it be?

The truth is – I’m rediscovering my identity – in the Lord – and it has nothing to do with whether or not I have a degree, a job outside the home, stay home and do laundry or wash dishes and take care of children – it has nothing to do with what I DO, but who I am in Christ…  My goals are (in this order):

1. To seek the Lord daily and walk with Him.

2. To love & serve my husband to “helpmeet” his needs as God designed.

3. To nurture & serve my children and help them find faith in the Lord and live according to His Will for their lives.

4. To reach out to others with His love.

the-queen-mommy-banner

5 Challenge

I love my Monday challenges.  They are both truly challenges – and such good ways to start a new week!  Jill at Diaper Diaries posted the current I Corinthians 7:5 Challenge today – WOOHOO!!!  I love it – I love Shock & Awe…  And I am going to just gonna put some plans in motion, so I’m not posting anything further – just check out Jill’s post.

Have a Blessed Day!


5 Responses to “At the Well – I Corinthians 7:5 challenge *Updated*”

  1. Chelsey Says:

    I love your goals you have set. I think you have some unique insight to offer so many women given your past history. I am thrilled to have you joining us here At the Well.

  2. Laurie Ann Says:

    Great post. Our weaknesses can be changed to strengths when we lean on God and give it over to Him. I loved the example you gave on submitting to your husband. Good to see you At the Well today.

  3. sheila Says:

    What is your name? I love you already! I love your honesty, I love your desire for Christ! I share it with you and I think we could be blogging friends. 🙂

    Looking forward to getting to know you better at the well,
    sheila

  4. Patty Wysong Says:

    LoL–those weakness are VERY familiar to me, and I know each one far too well. 😉

  5. Toia Says:

    I think we share some of the same weaknesses as well as strength. One is definitely is a sharp tongue. And not to mention stubborness. I can really be stubborn at times. It is not something I am proud of. However, I am working on it with God’s help, of course. Thanks for a great post!!


Comments are closed.

