Monday Memes – At the Well, 1 Cor. 7:5 Challenge

YAY – I’m back!  I’m very excited to be able to participate this week in these 2 really great, often challenging memes!

gathering-at-the-well

This is a really great post, and makes me happy to know Spring is coming!  Patty’s observation is so simple, too, and I appreciate the analogy she has used.

…that the [resurrection] life of Jesus also may be shown forth by and in our bodies. ~2 Corinthians 2:10b

Join in the discussion today:

Think about your daily life as a wife, mother and child of God.
What are some ways that you have persisted when you have been knocked down?
How have these circumstances brought glory to the Father?

I continue to care about our home & family – despite the chaos of 2 little ones, trying to finish my degree online, repeated illnesses, needed house renovations & busy schedules we have.  For me, that’s a serious accomplishment.  I haven’t given up (Oh, I want to.  I say I’m going to.  I just don’t.) I made a household notebook that I am putting into practice, with charts for the girls’ accomplishments too (Curly – dressing, brushing teeth, “homework,” etc.; Georgie – potty training), so we can celebrate our successes.  Using Flylady as a launching pad, I am building a routine schedule for us to maintain, and finding ways to be more frugal.  It is a challenge for me.  It’s not easy – so I want to give up.  It’s not exciting – so I get bored.  The results are not easily maintained – so I get frustrated.

But, in fully embracing the roles God has given me as a woman, wife, & mother, I am learning how much I actually (brace yourselves) ENJOY the sense of success and accomplishment when my family has drawers overflowing with CLEAN clothes, and dishes are done, and meals are being cooked & enjoyed at home.  The small successes are actually huge for my family and that’s very fulfilling.

I believe that in accepting & embracing my roles, God is innately glorified.  It’s a struggle still – I’m far too selfish – but as I follow Him more closely, He becomes more evident in my life.  My family sees, by far, the times I fail – my girls see my actions and hear my words and KNOW when I’m doing what’s right, or when I’m being selfish.  It’s so important for me to stay close to the Lord so they can see HIM in me.  THAT is when He is truly glorified in my life.

****************************************************************************

1 Cor. 7:5 Challenge

Well, much like our fearless leader in this challenge, I’ve fallen way behind…  And this week is just not conducive to catching up, well, at least for a few days…  It’s amazing how much LIFE can get in the way of intimacy.  I honestly NEVER thought there could be so many reasons to get in the way of, well, you know…  It doesn’t help that at least once every week, each of our girls ends up in our bed in the middle of the night – neither one of us knowing it until we are awakened by a smack in the face of a smaller, widely flung arm…

So, I’m praying that by the end of this week, things can get back on track.  New panties HAVE been bought, old undies have been scrapped.  Our bedroom is slowly moving into a more romantic setting with new scents and some scenery.  And hopefully as the week progresses, I can get back into the game mentally and really step up to the challenge by getting on board and catching up – maybe even trying 2 or 3 of the challenges at once…  Talk about Shock & Awe!

So, if you have lost track and can’t remember where we’re at – OR if you’re new to the whole challenge, go here.


have-a-blessed-day


4 Responses to “Monday Memes – At the Well, 1 Cor. 7:5 Challenge”

  1. Yolanda @ Higher Grounds Says:

    You are so much on the right path by being a young mother walking with Christ. Training up your children….our household doesn’t have that in our history….my husband and I didn’t become true believers, walking with Christ in a RELATIONSHIP…until his children were raised and gone. Oh how I wish we could have a do-over in that department, but because of that, our testimony, we can use this wisdom with the joys of being grandparents.

    Bless you!!
    Yolanda

  2. nlavender Says:

    Jesus should be the central to any marriage.
    I am presently writing a secular marriage book based on biblical principles; especially “the two shall become as one.”
    http://marriageatthetop.ning.com
    Best wishes,
    Neil

  3. allyouhavetogive Says:

    What a great post here Queen! I have to STAY persistent with my household as well and you are right…it’s tough, “I’m far too selfish.” I fight that off daily!!:)

    Wow…what wisdom…we have to EMBRACE where we are or we’ll fall off the path…

    Peace!
    lori

  4. Patty Wysong Says:

    You’re right! Persistence at home and in the boring things is sooo difficult, BUT rewarding!


Comments are closed.

