Thought full Thursday – How Sweet it Is!

I have a natural affinity for honey.  Always have. I like to think it has something to do with my name, Debbie.  Debbie means “honeybee” in Hebrew, and so I like to think that my name and my love for honey were pre-programmed for me by God. =)  Whether it’s true or not, honey is one of my favorite things – and is absolutely one of the BEST things any of us can get ahold of.

I can remember being maybe 4 years old visiting my grandparents and being in AWE of the natural honeycomb in the plastic dish.  It was the best tasting thing I’d ever eaten.  The golden, milky honey was just dripping from the comb – and my grandmother would just pour it lavishly it on a piece of toast for me.   She told me how hard bees worked to make the honey and how good it was for me and how even the beeswax was useful, too.

A few years later, I can remember my mom had a lady at our house who was talking about Royal Jelly.  This is the substance that the Queen Bee lives on – it’s what makes her thrive, what helps her lay the thousands (or millions) of eggs that become other bees, and how it rejuvenates and nourishes the skin when applied topically.

I used to love the little honey straws you could find at convenience stores or gas stations.  Reminds me of the time at a track meet when I was a Freshman in high school (and could actually run).  We were taking teaspoons of honey for the energy it would give us – and I have to say, that day I felt some of the best running I’ve ever felt in my life – and won ribbons with my relay team…

I prefer to drink my tea sweetened with honey.  Any tea.  I especially love honey on warm toast.  Sourdough toast.

And then of course, there are all the Biblical references to honey.  Personally, I’d LOVE to live in a land flowing with milk and honey…  Instead, I’m researching (a little bit) on beekeeping…  I’d love to be a Bee Charmer!

Note: My husband does not like honey.  He doesn’t like anything sticky.  But he still married me despite my inclination to the sticky stuff, so I can’t count that against him.

Honey has so many good nutritional benefits for you, but did you know it is also part of natural healing and can be incorporated into natural beauty recipes?

It can be used as a natural cough remedy.

It is antibacterial, antiviral, and antifungal!  It is even associated with anti-cancer properties (further studies are pending)!

There are lovely uses for honey in skin care products:  here, here, and here.  And if you google yourself you’ll see many more

So you can eat it.  You can wear it.  It is medicinal.  It is not synthetic.  It is the product of some of the hardest working creatures on the planet.  What gets better than that???

It’s the k ind of thing you could almost literally roll around in and reap in all kinds of benefits.  But my hubby would not like it.

I’ll just keep it for my tea.

Until tomorrow,

have-a-blessed-day

One Response to “Thought full Thursday – How Sweet it Is!”

  1. allhisblessings6 Says:

    I just wanted to comment and say I thoroughly enjoyed reading this entry about honey. I found this information to be very interesting, especially since it has so many references in the bible. THANK YOU for writing this! 🙂


Comments are closed.

