A Home Keeper? Who ME???

So, I’ve personally seen a mini-tranformation in myself over the past month.  Incorporating a “planner” to guide my days has really had an effect on my attitude, my energy level, and my purpose.   WHO KNEW???

Not only that, but I’ve rediscovered my LOVE for baking.  And now I CAN’T STOP!!!  (But it’s okay – Roy & I just bought new walking shoes and we are going to start walking with the girls…)

Last week I made Banana Sour Cream bread. YUMMO!  I also mixed up my first batch of Amish Friendship Starter and Sweet Sourdough Starter.

I also tried a new recipe, Cheeseburger Meatloaf – and we loved it!  I did not use chili sauce (don’t care for it).  I didn’t have quite a full pound of ground beef, so I added in about 1/2 cup of diced ham.  I thought about wrapping it in bacon, but our bacon was not usable (bummer!) so I skipped that part!

Over the weekend I mixed up a batch of Amish Sugar Cookies (with a few modifications) from my Mom’s Favorite Recipes book.  DEE-lightful.  (Recipe below.) And my first batch of Sweet Sourdough Bread is rising in the oven.  So I’ll be a Baking Mama this afternoon and I’m looking forward to it.

Our problem is we LOVE baked goods far too much, but I already have a plan to give some away.  We do not need all the calories – and it’s a nice way to say “Thank you” or “I’m thinking of you” and HOPEFULLY everything turns out well so we CAN give it away. LOL

AMISH SUGAR COOKIES

cups sugar*
1 cup shortening*
3 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract*
5 teaspoons baking powder
5 cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ teaspoons baking soda

Cream sugar, shortening, and eggs; add sour cream and vanilla. Gradually blend in remaining ingredients; mix well. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets; flatten slightly with the bottom of a sugar coated glass. Bake at 350 degrees for 9-11 minutes; cool completely on wire racks. Frost if desired.        Makes about 4 dozen.

* I used just less than 2 cups sugar – it seemed like a lot.  I just didn’t fill the measuring cup full.  I also used 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup margarine, and 1/4 cup solid coconut oil for the shortening.  I used 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla cuz I love it…  Don’t plan to use a sugar coated glass, either – just drop by teaspoonfuls…

I will be baking my first Friendship bread recipe this week, and will share that recipe later.  We are taking a family mini-vacation to southern Kentucky to visit Roy’s family (grandma, aunts, cousins) for a few days, and I hope to take some goodies with us.

If they last that long…  =)

Until next time…

have-a-blessed-day

One Response to “A Home Keeper? Who ME???”

  1. Thought Full Thursday: Settling In… Gearing Up… « The Queen Mommy’s Cafe Says:

    […] and finding a wide range of resources and printables to use.  I’ve shared delicious new recipes and menu ideas – all because of this great application of a simple […]


Comments are closed.

