Friday Favorites: Personality Tests

Okay.  I’ll admit it.  I am a Personality Test Junkie.

The quizzes in magazines?  I take them just for the fun of it.  Even if they don’t apply to me.  Not that I lie – I just imagine what my answer WOULD be if the quiz pertained to me.

This may explain why Psychology is my major of choice!

I LOVE the personality types proposed by Carl Jung! The four basic categories are: Protectors, Creators, Intellectuals, and Visionaries.  In general, we all have characteristics falling in each of the category – some just more prominently than others.

I’ve taken the Meyers-Briggs Personality Inventory NUMEROUS times and love figuring out why – at times – my results have differed!  I can actually see why the results change as my life undergoes major changes and I experience character transformation.

For example, in the right sidebar, you’ll see the results of my most recent personality & multiple intelligences tests.  (You can click the box and it’ll take you to the website where you can take the test for yourself if you’d like!)

These personality types don’t make me feel boxed in.  Rather, they allow me to explore my nature and understand – in a different light – where I am and maybe even where I need to work on things.  And they’ve given me a pretty accurate assessment of where I “am” at different times in my life. My two STEADY points are E (extroverted) and F (feeling).  Translated – Emotional Talker…

In the past my results have most often shown ESFJ (social butterfly) and ESFP (entertainer).

I’m an ENFP (Extraverted, iNtuitive, Feeling, Perceptive).  11.5% of the population falls in this category.  ENFPs fall under the “Visionary” category and defined as “The Advocate.”   According to this, an ENFP is

introspective, values-oriented, inspiring, social and extremely expressive. They actively send their thoughts and ideas out into the world as a way to bring attention to what they feel to be important, which often has to do with ethics and current events. ENFPs are natural advocates, attracting people to themselves and their cause with excellent people skills, warmth, energy and positivity. ENFPs are described as creative, resourceful, assertive, spontaneous, life-loving, charismatic, passionate and experimental.

Um – maybe this is why I love blogging – I love sending my thoughts & ideas out to the world about important things!

Some Famous ENFPs are:  Carol Burnett, Bill Cosby, Mark Twain, James Dobson, Sandra Bullock, & Paul Harvey.  These are people I really like – have always liked – and am kinda drawn to.  Birds of a feather…

Career Matches include: Actor, Artist, Entrepreneur, Homemaker, Nurse, and Writer.

Not that any of us are limited to these options by any means.  But – I am so intrigued by the idea that my personality naturally guides me to these types of careers.

Actor?  Yep, loved being the lead in plays & musicals growing up.  Love me some drama!

Artist?  While I’m not an artist by trade, I love being artsy and craftsy.  Not so much the abstract kind – but the homemade, handcrafted, etc…

Entrepreneur?  Would LOVE to have my own shop (coffee/craft/bakery) or Bed & Breakfast.

Homemaker ?  Here I am – and I’m loving it (after some adjustments, of course)

Nurse?  Yeah, down the road that’s probably where I’ll end up.

Writer?  Again – my blogging and something I’d love to do professionally one day.

It’s not a matter of limiting the gifts or abilities God has given to me.  It’s not a matter of saying – these are the only things I can do or am capable of, either.  I think it’s just a fun study of the qualities & traits I’ve been given…

So where do YOU find yourself?  Take the quiz and let me know!!!

P.S.  Thanks to Christin for posting this widget on her website!  I just couldn’t resist!

Posted in Favorites, Life. Tags: , , , , , . Comments Off on Friday Favorites: Personality Tests
