Thought Full Thursday! FAITH vs. FEELINGS

The Moms of Faith newsletter gives me such great encouragement each month, and today’s devotional is really a good reminder of the struggle I have with Faith vs. Feelings.

Over a period of years, I developed a habit of following my thoughts & feelings to some really difficult & depressing times.  It is a hard habit to break, and has taken much prayer and learning how to see the difference between what I feel or think, and what I know and believe.

We hear so often that we need to be in touch with our “feelings” and we’ve all heard the phrase, “Do what feels right.”  But is that really right?  Is that of God?  Our feelings & emotions are gifts from God, but they are not our Guiding Light – the Holy Spirit is, and our feelings are not always totally reliable, either!  The feelings may be real, and may lift you up or weigh you down – but they may not actually rest in TRUTH.

That’s where FAITH comes in.  Faith is trusting in God, who IS always Constant, Ever Faithful and Wholly True.   If you have difficulting distinguishing the difference between Faith & Feelings, this is a verse that may help:

Finally, brethren,
whatsoever things are true,
whatsoever things are honest,
whatsoever things are just,
whatsoever things are pure,
whatsoever things are lovely,
whatsoever things are of good report;
if there be any virtue,
and if there be any praise,
think on these things.
Philippians 4:8

I encourage you to read the MOF devotional in today’s newsletter – and feel free to poke around at the website and sign up for the newsletter yourself!

One Response to “Thought Full Thursday! FAITH vs. FEELINGS”

  1. Hope Says:

    Thank you for this post! I have begun to realize how often my ‘feelings’ are based on lies that have come from my past, the world and/or the Enemy himself. With much prayer I am hopeful that I will be able to identify these lies and replace them with God’s Truth. It will be a process but I am so glad He will help me along the way.


Comments are closed.

