Happy Mother’s Day! A Tribute to the Mothers I Love!

Being a mother, I have a new appreciation for Mother’s Day.  And for my own mother.  So when writing a post about Mothers & Mother’s Day, I have to start with my mom.  After all, she IS the woman who gave me life. =)

She & I have had a pretty good, although not always smooth, relationship – We have our moments of disagreement.  She doesn’t like confrontation and I’m opinionated & loud…

Then we have our  moments where we know that only she & I understand perfectly the conversation we are having, and the connection we hold.  She’s far more proud of me than I can understand.

She & I have laughed together more times than I could ever count.  That always strengthens a relationship!

She said some of the coolest things that my brothers & I still repeat (sometimes to our children!):

  • Don’t do anything you wouldn’t do if I was sitting on your shoulder.
  • That’s pretty something!
  • I’m a good cook, but I’m a better Baker!

My mom has prayed for me – she has wept brokenheartedly over some of my decisions and prayed for me to return to the grace of my Father in Heaven – as no one else has ever prayed for me.

She survived an operation to remove a large, but thankfully benign, brain tumor when I was almost 18.  She had to relearn some basic skills, and at that time – for the first time – I saw my mom as something less than super human.  I saw how vulnerable she was, and that she wasn’t invincible.

As a mother myself, she has encouraged me and told me what a good job I’m doing – even better than her, she says – when I’m feeling like the worst mother in the world.  She laughs at my girls, seeing how much they are like me, and always encourages me to be a godly mother to them.

So mom, I do hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day this year.  Almost 40 years of being a mom – and you’re amazing!

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

And then there is my grandmother.  My Grandma King, who passed away December 1987, was a matriarch in our family.  I doubt she ever considered the full impact she had on the members of our family who knew her and loved her.

She was Polish, daughter of immigrants, born in the late 1920’s.  Raised Catholic she eventually married my grandpa (whom she eloped with after having known him only SIX weeks!  This must be where some of my adventuresome spirit comes from!), and was a minister’s wife until the day she died.  She raised four children of her own, and fostered many others.  She helped raise some of her grandchildren – my cousins – and they are some of the neatest people I know!

She cared for the sick.  She sewed clothing and quilts for others.  She fed the hungry, she gave to the poor.  She was up early (always up early – eating toast with her homemade strawberry jam, drinking freshly brewed coffee, reading her Bible) and up late at night.  She supported my grandpa – that feisty German man – and loved her family dearly.

She wasn’t perfect – but she sure did set the bar high as the epitome of the Proverbs 31 woman!

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Last but definitely not least, is Cyndi.  Mother of my son, Mikhael.  I was just the vehicle to bring Mikhael into the world.  Cyndi is his mother.

Cyndi is this lovely, Christian woman with the best Southern twang and the sweetest heart I know.  She is no pushover and can be rather spirited (which I adore!) – and when God showed me what an utterly beautiful woman she was, I knew I could entrust her with my child.  Being only 18 at the time of his birth, and knowing I shouldn’t raise him, Cyndi opened her arms and her heart to us.

Both of us.

She wrapped both of us up tight into her life and loved us both.  She saved me, when she adopted my son.  My life – and my son’s life – is sooooo precious because of her.  She will always be my hero. My sister.  The dearest friend of my heart.

When I hear the term “Kindred Spirit” – I first think of Cyndi.

The Bible talks about the way that David and Jonathan were friends, and how their hearts were knit together.

Well, that’s what God did for me with Cyndi.  And blessed me with a woman who was brave enough and strong enough to keep me in her life – as a friend – while she mothered  my son.

I have been SO blessed to know these mothers – to have been directly impacted by these mothers – and to follow in their footsteps as a mother myself.  Now raising daughters – I hope to pass on the legacy of love, devotion, and friendship that these women have brought into my heart and life.

5 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day! A Tribute to the Mothers I Love!”

  1. slamdunk Says:

    Good read for a Friday morning. God Bless you and your family–and keep up the good writing.

  2. Dawn Says:

    Deb –
    As usual, you brought tears to my eyes. You have a gift for writing…and giving credit where credit is due. What a beautiful tribute to the special mothers in your life! Remember that YOU are a wonderful mother, too! Have a wonderful mother’s day!
    Dawn

  3. Marsha Baker Says:

    I can’t find the words to express all I’m feeling after reading this beautiful blog, but if you could see my tears, you would know that I couldn’t be more proud of you, my precous
    firstborn child – the one who made me a mother when she entered our world. Thank you from the depths of my heart – for being you and always blessing my socks off! You ARE an awesome mommy & I couldn’t love you more!! XO

  4. sarah mae Says:

    What a sweet wonderful tribute! Happy Mother’s Day to YOU! 🙂

  5. Jenny Says:

    I really liked the Mother


Comments are closed.

