Making Your Home Sing Monday: Juggling Act

I can SOOOO relate to this post at Moms The Word today!

I won’t admit how many times I’ve discovered a load of laundry in my washer – 2 or even 3 days after it’s been washed. UGH! It’s easy to forget that I started the load – my washer & dryer are in our dungeon basement, and I only go there to DO laundry. I need to find a way to post a reminder somewhere around my house so I can avoid that yukky sour smell!!!

Anyway – I will be the first to admit that I cannot do it all. I don’t want to do it all.  Doing enough is good enough for me.  And my family.

When I slack on laundry or dishes my family generally suffers, so of all my household chores, those are the ones I can’t  slide on…

While I would love to vacuum every day – and sometimes twice a day – I’m more likely to vacuum 2-3x a week.  With 2 small girls and a cat – vacuuming is a necessity.  Same goes for my kitchen floor – I usually sweep it 2-3x a week.  Mopping as needed (usually about 1x every 10 days). A thorough cleaning of my bathroom once each week is enough.  A “swish & swipe” routine in between keeps things from getting too gross at the sink & toilet.

Those things are probably my main priorities every week.  I try to accomplish other “cleaning” and “straightening” chores & projects during the week – but you will probably find fingerprint smudges on my glass or mirrors at any given time in my house.

I like clean – and need straightened (for my sanity) – but I don’t kill myself for my house.  My Home Keeper Notebook helps me stay on top of things and helps me prioritize. I’m only one person and taking care of my family where its most needed is my focus.  Having a spotless white-glove-inspection home is not. It has taken me a long time to come to that, but this is what I know:

My main role is as wife & mother.  That’s how I want to make my home sing!  Not as perfect supermom housekeeper…

“Mother, oh mother, come shake out your cloth!
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing and butter the bread,
Sew on a button and make up a bed.
Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking!
“Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
(Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo).
The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo.
Look! Aren’t her eyes the most wonderful hue?
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).
“Oh, cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
But children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust, go to sleep.
I’m rocking my baby. Babies don’t keep.
by Ruth Hulburt Hamilton
(first appeared, Ladies Home Journal, October 1958 as “Song for a Fifth Child”)
5 Responses to “Making Your Home Sing Monday: Juggling Act”

  1. DarcyLee Says:

    You’re right, at this season in your life, “doing enough is good enough” for your family. And I love that poem because it’s so true; babies grow up way too fast and the time we could have spent rocking them is soon gone.
    I tend to want everything spotless, too, but have realized it’s just not going to happen. Great post!

  2. Joye Says:

    I love that poem! Just love it!!
    And you have a homekeeper notebook? Wow. That sounds interesting! I think I need one!

  3. sarah mae Says:

    Yea! Preach it sister! 🙂

  4. Alicia Says:

    It’s hard to keep everything up, so us moms have to learn to find a happy medium and not get stressed out over the things that get overlooked.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog earlier!!

  5. Bethany Says:

    I so needed to read this blog today. I am with you in that sometimes just doing enough is enough for me. I do the things that absolutely need to be done so we can all have clean clothes to wear and healthy food to eat!! Really liked the poem as well….perfect!


Comments are closed.

