Making Your Home Sing Monday: Why Can’t a Man Be More Like a Woman?

Making your home sing Mondays

Aha! A topic I can really talk about!

Why can’t a man be more like a woman???

Why can’t he see that the trash is full and should be taken out – the living room floor is an almost impossible maze of shoes, toys, jackets, and clothes – and one lonely sock missed the laundry basket that is  sitting right there in the middle of the floor?

Truth is, he doesn’t notice those things for the same reason he doesn’t notice that the living room hasn’t been dusted for a month, the bedroom floor hasn’t been swept in days, there are cobwebs collecting at various corners of the house, and there’s only one clean glass in the cupboard because dishes haven’t been washed…

Shall I go on?  Mmmmm – maybe not.

Okay, the more I think about it – the more I’m GLAD men aren’t like women.

Nope – we think differently and we speak differently and we certainly feel differently about a wide variety of things.  But that allows for us to balance with each other instead of competing with each other.  It allows for us to “fill the gaps” that occur in our day to day living – our emotional makeup – our mental abilities – our spiritual growth.

God’s design for marriage – well, it makes perfect sense, really.  Even if the fine details have to be worked out together with cooperation and communication, rather than with pride and selfishness.  Is it easy to do?  Nope – cuz we’re human.  Is it fun to do – well, sometimes it’s a lot of fun and other times it’s a lot of self-sacrifice.

Fighting our differences – nursing a complaining spirit – well, that causes contention and do I REALLY want to be a contentious woman???  No, I really don’t.

Thanking God for the range of gifts and abilities he’s given to me and to my husband – designed by God in our differences to work together more effectively for Him – and aligning my spirit with what GOD has designed –

that’s how I can Make My Home Sing.

4 Responses to “Making Your Home Sing Monday: Why Can’t a Man Be More Like a Woman?”

  1. Erin Says:

    You and momstheword have caused me to noodle this topic this morning…I think men would have a hard time going off and doing what needs to be done if they didn’t have the ability to tune out the emotions and the side issues that we seem to relish. Nope, it just wouldn’t work. Men and women are complementary…two halves of one whole…together, we’re complete!

  2. momstheword Says:

    Even though you are free to write about whatever you are doing to make your own home sing each week, I love that you took the original post and put your own spin on it.

    I love what you said here: “and aligning my spirit with what GOD has designed.” I love the idea of aligning our spirit with whatever God has planned for us. Such a lovely way of putting it.

    I had to laugh when you mentioned about men ignoring cobwebs, dust, etc. I was thinking….hmmmmm, actually that’s a GOOD thing, lol!

    Thank you for joining us at MYHSM today, my friend!

  3. Alicia, The Snowflake Says:

    Amen! My husband and I complement each other so well. But it took me a while to see the differences as a good thing. No, I don’t want to be a contentious wife either. I’d rather my husband live in the house with me than on a corner of the roof 😉

  4. mistie Says:

    some times i wish my husband would stay on the roof and out of my way. he is just like another child somedays..


Comments are closed.

