Company Girl Coffee – July 17

Seriously?  Another week has flown by?  Sheesh – where did it go???

At least it’s time for Company Girl Coffee!!!  WooHoo!!!  Personally, I appreciated Rachel Anne’s “task” for Monday.  It was simple enough to be easily accomplished on what started out as a very trying  morning.  The girls just hate it when their dad leaves for work.

HATE. IT.

And they’re whiny and clingy and I’m not quite awake and ready for them.  Sunday evenings are spent wrapping up school work.  Sometimes I’m up very late, and then up early before Roy goes to work.  Made some schedule adjustments this week to try to ease up Sunday evening’s routine and make Monday’s transition smoother.  As much as is possible.

I had a Twitter conversation with @TerriLynnU about this very subject this week.  How difficult it is when daddy goes to work and our battle fighting for family time begins.

That’s why WORK is a curse, you know.  It steals time away from family…  But it is necessary and something we are grateful for.
We just REALLY MISS DADDY when he’s gone.

Roy is working hard right now – between actually working and studying for his independent licensure.  It’s a very big deal and he is spending a lot of very early mornings studying and trying to absorb a TON of information he needs to have at his disposal for his test.

The current Psychology class I’m taking is the hardest class I’ve had and I’m really struggling with the technical aspects of it.  And there are lots of technical aspects.

I’ve been getting up early in the mornings to attempt to do my homework while he’s up studying.  I have to work on the computer in our basement to ensure my connection is steady.  He sits in the living room with his books and study materials.

Studying during the day with 2 little girls who want to play outside or play dress up or have tea time – well, you can imagine. So it’s a real balancing act right now – and many days I don’t feel I’m doing a good job.

Balance is something I crave.  Something I desire.  Something I hope for.  But sometimes it seems so elusive to me.  Prioritizing requires a lot of thoughtful prayer and consideration. When I’m tired and sleep deprived and worried about class projects – I’m not capable of being reasonable or rational about putting things in order…

When I make myself stop and pray for clarity and GOD’S order for my day – and let go of MY expectations – balance becomes something I can find quite readily.  The fog of disorder and stress roll away and I find greater purpose and meaning in the process, and I even find more time to study…

Proverbs 3:5-6
Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.
In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths. (Amplified)

Ta Da – LIGHTBULB moment…

So this is my goal for each day: Seeking the Lord first and asking Him to guide me and provide the necessary time, energy, motivation and capability of accomplishing the responsibilities that go hand in hand with all of the blessings He has given me.

This is how I can help make our Home a Sanctuary…

8 Responses to “Company Girl Coffee – July 17”

  1. Melissa Holgate Says:

    You’re serving up good stuff this morning! I have five children and was just talking to a friend the other day about managing the balancing act without looking like a circus act!

    My memory verse for the second half of July (which I think is going by all too quickly btw) is Psalm 31:3 “Since you are my rock and my fortress, for the sake of your name lead me and guide me.” I pray this every morning. I am in such a need of His leadership and guidance in my life as a wife, mom, and homemaker!

    Thanks for the coffee invite this morning. Have a wonderful weekend!
    -Melissa

  2. Diane Says:

    What a wonderful truth. We work so hard – and become so frustrated – trying to find a balance, when if we ask God, He will help us find the perfect balance.

  3. Muthering Heights Says:

    It sounds like you have your focus in the right place!!

  4. LaDonna Says:

    Thanks for these thoughts today.

  5. Star Says:

    I am always struggling to find balance. It is so easy to look around at what we see and think we are the only ones who can’t seem to pull it together! I am not sure there is such a thinkg as perfect balance but when my focus is on God, it always helps my perspective!

    Great post, thanks!

  6. joyceandnorm Says:

    That is wonderful. Thanks for sharing. Work sometimes does get in the way huh? Work life balance…in my case housework life balance. Melody does get sad when she wakes up and Norm has already left for work. Hard to explain to a 2yo what exactly Daddy does and why he does it. =p

  7. LydiaCate Says:

    Great stuff! Thanks for sharing! I needed that reminder. He really wants us to bring it ALL before Him doesn’t He! I’m just so slow sometimes LOL! Love His faithfulness.
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    LydiaCate

  8. Michelle Says:

    Love your site! Great content.


Comments are closed.

