The Simple Womans Daybook – July 20

simple-woman-daybook-small

Outside my window… all is dark and quiet.  I’m up earlier than usual, and everything is quiet and still.

I am thinking… about the really great weekend we had together.  We spent time at our county fair where both of the girls enjoyed visiting all the animal barns, and where Georgie practically climbed in with one of the rabbit cages to pet a ginormous grey rabbit!

I am thankful for… hot tea with honey (for sore throat and allergies!)

From the kitchen… no baking today.  Just need to do dishes and put them away.  We are trying to revamp some eating habits and trying to put together sufficient menus to fit the bill.  I think Roy is going to start Atkins for awhile, but I’m going to lean more towards a modified South Beach diet: Lean proteins, veggies & fruits, dairy and whole grains.  We both need to get some weight off and start walking more together as a family.

I am wearing… my Procrastinators Unite! tomorrow T-shirt.

I am creating… calm for my family today.

I am going… to keep things low-key with the girls today as much as possible.  Mondays are an “adjustment” from the weekend.

I am reading… my Diane Mott Davidson fiction mystery-foodie series.  The main character in a small Colorado mountain town is a caterer who stumbles into mysteries and helps solve the crimes.  the scenery is always refreshing (I love mountains) and the food & recipes in each book is always described in amazingly delectable ways.

I am hoping… that my sinus/allergy problems go away today!

I am hearing… unusual silence.

Around the house… just need to catch up on laundry and get dishes done. 

One of my favorite things… is my morning coffee…

A few plans for the rest of the week: Get busy on my Psych homework (this class is killing me), get some kitchen organizing & straightening done, and take Georgie for her routine checkup tomorrow.

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

coffee flowersHave a beautiful day today!

Be sure to visit tomorrow.  I’ll be sharing my MOST embarrassing moment (in all its glory) to help a friend in need…

Posted in Faith. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “The Simple Womans Daybook – July 20”

  1. mrsbaker11 Says:

    You are beautiful – in His eyes, and mine too! XO

  2. Danielle Says:

    So how do you like the mysteries involving food? I am looking for some good books to read!

  3. TheQueenMommy Says:

    Actually, I really ENJOY the stories. Mostly because the writer talks about food in such great, descriptive terms. The recipes are included throughout each book, and the characters’ love of food and cooking comes through in a great way in my opinion. Makes me want to COOK! The first book is clean and simple. The subsequent books include swearing (which I’m marking out this time around) and some of the crime scenes are kinda graphic… I really want to start trying some of the recipes. The mystery part is fun in my opinion – light reading – and my brain has needed the entertainment. LOL. I have about 9 of the books in the series, so I’ll have to start adding to my collection…


Comments are closed.

