Are You a Social Butterfly?

credit: dezinerfolio

credit: dezinerfolio

The only trouble I ever got into at school was for socializing with my neighbors.  From my first “report card” all through high school – the only significant trouble I ever faced was because I loved to visit and chat and catch up with friends. During class.

I was asked to leave a class – more than once – because I could not stop laughing.  It was the kind of laughing that had no “stop” button and left me breathless with tears rolling down my face.

Needless to say, my mom often referred to me as a Social Butterfly.

Are you a Social Butterfly?  Are you comfortable moving within and making friends on the internet?  Do you like joining social networks online, meeting new people and developing friendships and business relationships online?

FacebookMyspaceTwitter? Ning? Yahoo! Groups?

I don’t have to tell you where I stand.  My sidebar is full of links and buttons to sites I enjoy  and want to recommend to anybody who visits The QMs Cafe…

Of those I happened to list, Twitter by far is my favorite (instant short but thoughtful conversations!)

Yes, it is distracting for some, but if my little Cafe was in a physical building, it would contain an eclectic collection of knick-knacks and favorite things, too.

And then it would be called “kitschy” and “unique.”

There are some social sites I visit daily.  There are some I interact on weekly.  Monthly.  Or even just occasionally… Short conversations and long, leisurely discussions about a variety of topics.

And some draw me in for hours before I even realize it. sigh.  Moderation in all things!

I have found some buddies through these sites – and I have found some real inspirations.

The funny thing about the internet is that online friendships ~ at least for me ~ have a different feel about them.  Maybe it’s the continuous contact.  Maybe its the ability to actually defer contact for as long as I want, or for as long as my busy life requires.  Maybe its the instantaneous connection and conversation – but I have some online friends who are as important to me as some of my longtime friends.

I have been able to reconnect with friends from ages ago because of these social sites.  And it’s been so much fun.   Even if we only actually chat or email twice a year, considering I am able to visit with them at all after 20 years is pretty exciting!

And yep, I’ve made new friends because of social networking, too.  The internet has closed the gap – shortened the distance between two friends – and I for one am grateful!

Are you a Social Butterfly?  If so ~ what’s YOUR favorite social network?  If not ~ what’s holding you back? What do you like ~ or dislike ~ about social networking online?

4 Responses to “Are You a Social Butterfly?”

  1. Danielle Says:

    I can be a social butterfly at times but not all the time! I like to have my alone time and not be accessible to everyone. I am on facebook once a day and try to comment and respond to comments. I am on the Tweet deck all day long. I need to have more conversations there though. So I am a little half and half!

  2. Debbie Says:

    I couldn’t Twitter without Tweetdeck – it’s that simple. Organized conversations are absolutely key for Twitter. And it’s my favorite forum – even when I can’t get there every day… LOL

  3. slamdunk Says:

    You are way in front of me with the social aspects of the Internet. I stay low-profile as an anonymous blogger and like the freedom that it offers–without linking my real name to comments.

  4. girlgeum Says:

    I’ve found a few foreign friends this way. Not on Facebook or Twitter, but other social networks.


Comments are closed.

