It’s NOT a Mid-Life Identity Crisis. I promise!

Coffee, anyone? I don’t have breakfast ready, but coffee’s on and it’s nice & hot…

I’ve made several references to the New Blog Reveal that was going to come this summer.  Notice the past tense there? I’m in a quandary at the moment and am sitting still and listening to God about what He has to say about the matter.

When I started blogging a few years ago, the only thing I knew was how to type words into paragraphs and put them into the posting window in my blog.  I learned how to add pictures.  How to change fonts and colors, and have learned MUCH MUCH more since then.

credit: sebilden

credit: sebilden

I created the moniker “The Queen Mommy” out of a series of life events.   Being the oldest daughter of 3 children, I accepted my role as oldest with relish and took delight in bossing my brothers around like a Champ!  Of course I earned “Bossy” as a nickname and being the positive person I was, chose to translate that into something better.  Since my name means “honeybee” and the boss of the honeybees is the Queen – I pretty well embraced “Queen Bee” as my alter ego.

People who have known me have chuckled at the QB nickname and my hubby even had occasion to call me Queen Bee…

And then when I became a mommy, and my oldest displayed innately natural “Princess” tendencies practically from birth, it was an easy transition to “Queen Mommy” – especially as I began blogging.  So I started my blog using The Queen Mommy and bloggingdom has never been the same.  Or so I’d like to think.

As I began thinking about moving to a self-hosted NAMED blog, I discovered that there are AT LEAST two other bloggers who use the name “Queen Mommy.”  This poses a dilemma in some ways – although not major – but I for one like to be an individual and don’t like to share my title… LOL   I also want to have a distinctive “home” on the internet and be unique enough that people can find me easily, without becoming completely obsolete…

Just to Clarify – I’m not saying the other two bloggers stole anything from me – and I’m not saying they have to change their names.  I didn’t steal their name either – we just all have great taste and high self-esteem…

Because really in the process of all of this, I’ve been hearing God quietly speaking to me to let go of the whole “Queen Mommy” persona and move into something different. Something more outside of ME.  More purposeful and meaningful.

But what?  I’m still praying about it, and God is revealing to me some new, exciting ideas!

So I am pursuing a new Cafe name.  I’ve had tons of ideas and have brainstormed several times, and think I’ve landed on a new title.  But I can’t share it just yet.  If I do, I’ll have to kill you be racing against some unknown domain broker and end up NOT being able to use it because it’s been bought and someone wants to sell it to me for $1,395…  That’s the way the online world of domain names works sometimes.

So, as my readers, visitors, stalkers, fans – I just want you to know that the “New Blog” is coming – it’s just being re-envisioned…  And you’ll be the first to know when and where to find the new and improved Cafe.

Until then, I’ll be here – serving up the daily menu and hope you’ll stick around for the change…

Any suggestions, comments, input is HIGHLY welcome.  Feel free to propose new Cafe names, to suggest twists to The Queen Mommy moniker, and so forth.

What would you do?  Would you change your name and move in a new direction?

YOUR comments are greatly appreciated!

6 Responses to “It’s NOT a Mid-Life Identity Crisis. I promise!”

  1. slamdunk Says:

    In my job, I have found that selecting a name that everyone likes is more difficult than developing the initiative itself.

    For us, linking the name that you want to something a little different has worked well when the URL we wanted was not available.

    Best wishes with the new site.

  2. Hope Says:

    Not sure if this will be helpful but as a fairly new reader of your blog I am not sure that I ever felt that your name – Queen Mommy actually fit the person that I met here online. Does that make sense? The blogger that I have met seems more humble, more focused on things outside of herself, more seeking of the truth and things that are good, more of a teachable heart. Anyway I look forward to following you on your new journey. Blessings my friend!

  3. Debbie Says:

    Thanks, Hope – i appreciate that perspective. I always laughed at myself when I referred to myself as “queen” mommy cuz I know I”m SOOO far from it. LOL Thank you for your input and your sweet comments.

  4. Danielle Says:

    Oh so sad you won’t have Queen Mommy! I understand when it is time for a change! Been through many!

  5. Debbie Says:

    Thanks, Danielle. Oh, I’ll still BE The Queen Mommy, just not online. LOL

  6. Saturday Linkies « The Queen Mommy's Cafe Says:

    […] light of my recent quandary about my blog and where to go from here, Amy Bayliss asks the question (and gives me serious food for thought): […]


Comments are closed.

