What is the Big Deal about Christian Blogging?

With the explosion of blogging across the internet you’ll find thousands of people who blog for a million different reasons!  You’ll find that even THIS blog has many directions and a variety of content. More and more Christian blogs and people who classify themselves as Christian bloggers are popping up.

So what is the big deal about Christian blogging?

Blogging about your faith can have an impact far beyond just words on a page. God can speak through a blogger and guide them not only in the development of their blog but with everything they do on a regular basis.  I’ve seen many blogs like this and always come away feeling inspired, refreshed, encouraged, exhorted, and more.

When I began blogging, I was really just a mommy blogger – but God has been moving this blog to something different – something bigger than just family news or updates.

Writing a Christian blog can become a real heartfelt ministry.  More and more Christians are being called by the Lord to begin this ministry.

Sharing God’s Word – while its purpose is probably to impact those who hear it – will probably change and impact everything you do.  If you – like me – feel that God is telling you to do something more with your blogging, be prepared for some major life changes! Be prepared for conviction in your life.  Be prepared for a renewed hunger for God’s word.  Be prepared for conflict and disagreement.

You will probably see areas in your life that need to be yielded to God, areas that need His touch and His reproof.  And you will also see areas of God’s grace, and growth.  Living your life according to His purpose goes hand in hand with sharing His Word with others. Things will never be quite the same.

This does NOT mean you will be perfect or that you even have to be perfect to be a “Christian blogger.”

In fact, proclaiming your Christianity on your blog can just throw your many failures, flaws and outright sins in the limelight for you (and everyone else) to see.  In Romans 7 Paul himself wrote:

We know that the Law is spiritual; but I am a creature of the flesh [carnal, unspiritual], having been sold into slavery under [the control of] sin. For I do not understand my own actions [I am baffled, bewildered]. I do not practice or accomplish what I wish, but I do the very thing that I loathe [[b]which my moral instinct condemns].Now if I do [habitually] what is contrary to my desire, [that means that] I acknowledge and agree that the Law is good (morally excellent) and that I take sides with it. However, it is no longer I who do the deed, but the sin [principle] which is at home in me and has possession of me. For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot perform it. [I have the intention and urge to do what is right, but no power to carry it out.]For I fail to practice the good deeds I desire to do, but the evil deeds that I do not desire to do are what I am [ever] doing. Now if I do what I do not desire to do, it is no longer I doing it [it is not myself that acts], but the sin [principle] which dwells within me [fixed and operating in my soul].

When I blog about my faith, it is really a sharing of what God has done for me and is capable of doing for anyone.  But that does not mean I have become perfect.  No, instead I am just more aware of my failures and sins, and where I need to surrender to God.  In many ways, I feel more accountable to my family to live differently.  To do as I say…

Really, blogging is just another means of sharing God with others by utilizing today’s technology!  As the enemy uses this same technology to promote sin, Christian bloggers can stand in the gap and meet him with God’s Word.  It’s another battleground – not just a way to stay in touch with family…

So for me – Christian blogging is a big deal.

How do you feel about it?

4 Responses to “What is the Big Deal about Christian Blogging?”

  1. Mary @ Giving Up on Perfect Says:

    Agreed, my friend – it is most definitely a big deal. 🙂

  2. Courtney Says:

    I agree! It is a huge deal and it can make such a difference in people’s lives.

  3. Deborah Says:

    I just found your website tonight and I love it! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

  4. Michael Lantz Says:

    I agree with your post.I am a born-again but we live in a fallen world.My blog has alot of Christian stuff,but it is not entirely Christian.It is very Pro-Military,Pro-Marriage,Pro-Life,Pro-Democracy and Pro-American.So does my websites.


Comments are closed.

