CBC: Danielle Asks Why I Started Blogging

Danielle, of Danielle’s Journey, has answered my questions in our Cross Blog Conversation about her internship experience and how she got started with Sweepstakes & Giveaways.  It does sound like a really fun hobby!

So now she’s asked me a couple of questions:

home momHow long have you been blogging? As a stay-at-home (busy) mom how has it benefited your life? Okay and one last question: Why did you choose to start blogging?

I have been blogging for almost 4 years.  It started after Curly was born and family and friends wanted to see how she was growing and see pictures of her.  It was sort of a published newsletter for me.

I had Postpartum Depression (PPD) after each of the girls was born and some of my posts were actually therapeutic because I talked about how I was feeling, about how little sleep I was really getting, about some of my struggles.  It was very sporadic at first, but by the time Georgie was born, I was blogging more often and about more topics.  Blogging is much like journaling, and I love to write, so I always enjoy the venue it has afforded me.  But for probably 2 years I just wrote to family and friends – and when new people I didn’t know would make comments, I’d be surprised.

Honestly, I didn’t know anything about “mommy blogging” until after I became a Stay at Home Mom (SAHM) in May 2008.  I was aware there were a lot of other mom bloggers – but I was not fully aware of how HUMONGOUS mommy blogging had become and how powerful it could be.

Being a wife, mom, and college student has been challenging.  Finding balance is my biggest goal.  It’s a hugely cathartic experience to blog about life and has helped me become a better person, pushing me to be a better wife & mom.

And it’s nice to know that other moms out there have experienced or are experiencing the same kinds of things I am.  I wrote in a recent post about reconnecting with an old friend, and how sweet it was.  The internet made that possible.

I always got HUGE personal satisfaction from my jobs in the past.  For me now, my JOB is to be a great wife & mom.  My passions include blogging and writing.  Being part of the blogging community has allowed me to find new ways to attain balance.

God has blessed me with many great things, and has afforded me some great tools to encourage me, some opportunities to expand my vision and writing, and has given me great passion for sharing information about personal and social issues.

Because of that, my blogging changed this year, especially in that I am not hesitant to blog about personal or social issues that I feel passionate about:  faith, abortion, depression, child sex trafficking, etc.  Blogging is a forum that inspires and motivates me in many ways. It’s also an invaluable tool in providing information in a place where people are always looking for more, as well as providing opportunity to do business and earn income in new ways.

So, Danielle, I have a few questions for you:

Why is your blog named “Danielle’s Journey”?  I have read several of the Work at Home Mom (WAHM) articles on your site – do you consider yourself to be a SAHM, a WAHM or something in between?  Do you have advice for anyone who is considering becoming a WAHM?


One Response to “CBC: Danielle Asks Why I Started Blogging”

  1. cantueso Says:

    I did not use my head when I said I would like to take some of your sidebar pictures for my blog. I meant “Kid Approved Meals” and “The next best thing to having one of these..”

    But I am in Spain, and the ingredients that Americans use in their cooking are most of them typically and exclusively USA. Did you know? So for example there was a “stew Stroganoff”. Six of its eight ingredients are factory made and do not exist here.

    I realized that when an American blogger friend of mine had the nice idea of posting a photo of his icebox with the door wide open to show two or three dozen or more jars and pots with their brand labels. Excepting oil, vinegar, mustard, mayonnaise, and coffee, I have nothing of the kind in my kitchen….


Comments are closed.

