Happy Coffee Girls Day! (Is it really Friday again?)

it’s time for Company Coffee Girls – Yippee!!!  Thanks to all of you for your prayers and encouragement through this past week.  It does seem to me that Christians everywhere are struggling with something heavy – and we can certainly lift one another up…

I’ve still felt physically discombobulated this week, though.  Sort of “out of body” as Roy would say.  The days came and went and I kinda felt like I missed a whole week somehow.  Some things were accomplished, but shaking off this “blah” has been a little tough.

The weather changed – although it’s warm in the day, the mornings and evenings are cooler, and with that comes the sore throats, sniffles, and little sick ones.  Curly was down for a couple days with sore throat, fever, and coughing.  Probably asthma – so we’ve been doing breathing treatments.  She missed soccer practice due to weather and is supposed to have her first game tomorrow.  Hopefully she wakes up feeling better, but if not – we’ll keep her home from school and let her rest up.  Georgie has had a low fever, but that hasn’t slowed her down any.  Most people who see her in action either refer to her as “a little peanut” (which is what I called her while I was pregnant) or “a little monkey” (and that’s where her nickname comes from – Curious George)…

Started in my new women’s Bible study this week – Lies Women Believe – by Nancy Leigh Demoss – GOOD STUFF.  Challenging stuff.  Truthful stuff.  Have read the first chapter, but am going to reread it to prepare for the next class…

And the first edition of our women’s ministry newsletter will be mailed next week.  I’m very excited.  When it’s posted online – I’ll share the link here!  I spoke with the previous editor, and we talked about how it’s something like giving birth to a new baby.  For me, it’s very much like having our FIRST baby – excitement and nervousness – and I’m really blessed that God opened this opportunity to me to serve Him this way!  I’m growing to LOVE my church and my church family – and am excited about the fellowship and friendship opportunities that are coming.

If you’ve ever been an unused vessel sitting on the shelf – either waiting for the Hands of the Master to pick you or even begging the Hands of the Master to NOT pick you…  I can say that it feels AMAZING to be used by God and to be yielded to Him for His Purpose.  This feeling of contentment – it’s what I’m praying for as I serve my family.  Writing (for me) is fun and enjoyable and I have always had a great affinity for it; serving my family – not so much.  But I love my family, and God has blessed and called me to serve them, and I’m learning to settle under His hand and let Him use me as a wife & mom to bring HIM glory.  It isn’t easy cuz I’m very willful and want my own way far more than is good for me or my family.  But I’m learning, and maybe He’s using my ministry as a means to motivate me to be more yielded at home…

Remembering 9/11 is something I will always do, but I chose not to do it here today.  I’ll steer you to my 9/11 post from last year, instead.

Have a lovely day, Company Girls!  And to all of you readers – I want to leave you with this:

Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]  ~ John 14:27 (Amp)

8 Responses to “Happy Coffee Girls Day! (Is it really Friday again?)”

  1. Angela Says:

    I am sorry that the weather changing bugs have also hit your house. I think all of us have a runny nose and slight cough around here. It was 65 out last night and I told my husband “I was freezing”. lol

  2. Jamie DeMumbrum Says:

    Ever been whacked in the head by a Bible verse? That’s exactly what just happened to me! John 14:27, huh? Thanks, Debbie, I needed that. 🙂

  3. Joyce Says:

    Thanks for the verse. I don’t know what I would do without the peace that the Lord gives. Can’t wait to see the newsletter online.

  4. Addy Says:

    Sorry for the sickies and the blahs. But one day at a time seems to be the best medicine!
    Hope you have a better weekend!

  5. LydiaCate Says:

    So sorry you are having sickness at your house. I pray it passes quickly and all are healthy!

    I love Nancy Leigh DeMoss. I imagine her study is a good one. I’ve not read that book. I’ll look forward to hearing about it.

    Great verse…it’s so important for us to rest in the one who holds it all in his hand. Thanks for sharing!
    Have a great weekend! I hope sniffle free!

  6. LaDonna Says:

    I’ve been “off” the past few weeks and have not written a coffee post, but I read a number of them.

    Glad I stopped by yours today.

  7. Shawna Atteberry Says:

    I hope your household feels better soon. I’m new Company Girl who’s stopping by and saying hi.

    Shawna

  8. Rachel Anne Says:

    I would really like to see your newsletter. We are going to start one for the women’s ministry at our church so I’m looking for inspiration!

    Hope you had a good week….sorry it took so very long to come around for the coffee! It’s always great to stop in.


Comments are closed.

