Share a Cup with Me! or I Dream of Keurig…

So what’s your favorite coffee blend?  Do you have one or do you just drink the first available cup you can find?  What’s your favorite brewing system?

See, I can’t think or talk about the craziness of my week, so I’m going to focus on one of my favorite things: COFFEE!!!   I could totally own a coffee shop and would LOVE to try the wide variety of coffee roasts, bean blends, and brewing systems to see which is really my favorite.  But it might not be a profitable coffee shop if I’m using all the merchandise…

At our house, we use a percolator.  Roy grew up with one – and I have to agree with him that it makes a better cup of coffee than the standard drip brewer.  I also prefer a medium-roast coffee, although I enjoy a dark roast from time to time, too.  Especially in winter…

But I still dream about a Keurig one-cup brewer.  Mainly because we will perk an 8-10 cup pot of coffee many mornings, and not drink it all.  6 cups would satisfy me – but just me – and that’s not really 6 cups of coffee, just the measurement on our pot. So I always make at least 8 so Roy can enjoy some coffee, too.  Only he doesn’t always get to.

So we end up pouring coffee down our drain and I can’t. stand. it.

The one thing holding me back from buying a Keurig is the price of the K-cups.  Typically, we’re talking $9.99 for a box of 18 cups.  Which breaks down to a reasonably priced single cup of coffee – $.56 – compared to specialty shops and even most restaurants.  But when compared to the 23 lb can of coffee that can be bought at Sams Club for $9.99 (Okay, I’m exaggerating the size of the coffee can) – we’re talking a serious difference in prices.

On the other hand, Keurig was smart enough to manufacture a “make-your-own-K-cup” accessory, so anyone is able to use their favorite blend of coffee to make a cup for themselves at home – so it works out well.  And we can find the brewer that works for us while still saving money. WOOHOO!!!

The other factor in selecting coffee is whether or not it is FAIR-TRADE.  Organic – I’m actually not so much worried about.  But FAIR TRADE has to do with the fact that the coffee source essentially does NOT use slave labor to produce their coffee beans.  FAIR TRADE means that the source does not use slave workers in their manufacturing process and pays their workers FAIR wages for work, not pennies for hours of long days at exhaustive manual labor…

I’ve been looking more and more for FAIR TRADE blends and trying to be a little more selective about my coffee.  [By the way – the 3 products which often resort to using slave labor at the source are:  Coffee, Chocolate, and Diamonds.  Hmmm – all 3 are something women tend to love generally speaking, so I figure women can do something about it…] Anyway – more coffee suppliers are using FAIR TRADE beans, and although the price may be a tad bit higher – but not always – it’s worth a smaller variety of selections to help eradicate slavery!

Now it’s time to go get the perk percolating and get started with my day!

So what IS your favorite coffee?  Bean blend?  Roast?  Brand Name?  What’s your favorite way to drink coffee?  Do you have a favorite local shop – what’s your favorite drink there?

20 Responses to “Share a Cup with Me! or I Dream of Keurig…”

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Share a Cup with Me! or I Dream of Keurig… « The Queen Mommy's Cafe [thequeenmommy.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com Says:

    […] Share a Cup with Me! or I Dream of Keurig… « The Queen Mommy's Cafe thequeenmommy.wordpress.com/2009/09/18/share-a-cup-with-me-or-i-dream-of-keurig – view page – cached My nephew Caden is fighting leukemia. Click on his picture to read his story – and please pray with us. — From the page […]

  2. Star Says:

    Wow! As a non-coffee drinker, I can’t even imagine that there would be so many decisions to make in simply brewing a cup at home. About the most time I have ever spent thinking about coffee is whether or not it is worth buying coffee and brewing it every morning and then throwing it away because I LOVE the smell but HATE the taste…I decided it wasn’t worth it!

    My favorite coffee? Does a Double Chocolate Chip Frappucino from Starbucks count?
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Cari Says:

    Not a big coffee drinker either….but now hot tea…I am officially a tea snob….my current favorite is Hot Cinnamon Sunset looseleaf from Heinemen and Sons…mmmmmm…I think I will go brew a cup!

    Have a great week!

  4. TheQueenMommy Says:

    Mmmmm – I’m a tea lover, too, so I’ll have to do a tea post next time. =)

    I know a lot of people who don’t like the TASTE of coffee, but LOVE the smell. It’s the smell of “Home” to me. =)

  5. joyceandnorm Says:

    Tea post please! I don’t even know how to make coffee. I feel so bad when people come over and they want coffee. My dad brings his own and leaves it in the cabinet. haha I’d drink maybe 2 cups a year?? if that. I probably don’t even know what a good cup is…I just have Starbucks.

    Have a lovely weekend.

  6. meatlessmama Says:

    I’m another one who loves the smell of coffee but hates the taste! I drink herbal teas, chamomile is my favorite.

  7. TheQueenMommy Says:

    How funny to hear from all of my TEA loving readers today! I know several of my visitors share my affinity for coffee – but I am a good tea fan anytime. It’s my favorite afternoon drink!

  8. Diane Says:

    I’ll admit I like my coffee a tad on the weak side, at least if I’m making it.

    A local place called Stone Creek Coffee is committed to “socially responsible” business, using fair trade beans for their coffee, and marking the product “socially responsible” if it meets certain standards. I did some quilting for a student group a year or so ago, and they gave me a couple of pounds of SC beans as a thank-you. I like both the mild and bolder blends – both are very smooth and not bitter.

  9. Jamie Says:

    I love the idea of percolator-brewed coffee…Reminds me of being a kid and watching the redish light come on at the top when the coffee was ready. Maybe I should try a percolator…Nothing like the look to go with the delicious aroma!

  10. Karen Snyder Says:

    Debbie,

    Thank you for highlighting fair trade coffee. I notice quite a few of your readers are tea drinkers and they can also purchase fair trade tea so that farmers are given fair wages too. Rishi Tea has quite a few award-winning fair trade teas and there are many fair trade coffee blends to choose from. Fair trade items now include clothing, shoes, fresh fruit, dried snacks, wine, vodka, body-care, soap, olive oil, rice, quinoa, and much more.

    Fair Trade was started in America in 1946 by one Christian woman with a vision, and has become a global movement involving over 60 countries, and 1.5 million workers. In America, over 1,500 companies and retailers offer fair trade goods, there are 12 fair trade towns, and over 300 college campuses that support fair trade.

    Fair Trade the White House is a coalition of fair trade vendors and organizations which is inviting the First Lady to join the fair trade movement and make the White House a “Fair Trade Home.” The purpose of the outreach is to raise greater awareness of fair trade to the American consumer, so each person will choose to “Join the Fair Party,” and integrate more fair trade purchases into their regular buying habits, so that poverty is reduced in America and around the world.

    The public invitation to the First Lady is available to sign online at http://www.fairtradewhitehouse.com. You can find SAVING COUPONS on the Fair Trade the White House web site so you can try out more fair trade goods.

  11. LaDonna Says:

    I’m a coffee drinker. I love my coffee. We get beans and grind them ourselves. It is usually a medium roast and we have a drip maker. That we shut off as soon as it’s done. We like it strong. really strong.

    I don’t go out anywhere to have coffee, except Tim Hortons and even there I don’t get coffee anymore. I get a French vanilla cap I believe. Their coffee isn’t that good tasting anymore. I like it best at home.

  12. Debbie Says:

    Yay – I KNEW there were more coffee lovers out there. =) Mmmm- vanilla is my favorite flavor, although Caramel is proving to be a staunch competitor…

  13. Teresa McNamara Says:

    All I know is that yesterday I had wonderful coffees punctuating my day but in the end there were too many because I was up half the night! Unfortunately at home I’m restricted to instant!

  14. Melissa Says:

    Well, usually I set my coffee maker to automatically go off at 7:00am. I’m not really picky about my coffee, but I like the more mild blends. This morning though, I treated myself to a very yummy latte with lots of foam an sipped it while meeting with some of my favorite ladies for prayer. =)

    Have a great weekend!
    -Melissa

  15. LydiaCate Says:

    Oh I love my coffee. My favorite coffee although I don’t buy it because my budget won’t agree to it is…Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. LOVE IT! And the best cup of coffee I’ve ever made was made with coffee that came from Costa Rica. I’m still kicking myself for not getting the website off the bag and can’t for the life of me remember the name. A friends daughter married a young man from Costa Rica and his father supplied the coffee for the wedding. It was wonderful. I’m going to say this and then run…I think McDonald’s makes a better cup of coffee than Starbucks.
    Please casteth no stones! 🙂
    I’m also a tea girl. I”ll look forward to the tea post too!
    Have a great weekend, coffee or tea!

  16. TheQueenMommy Says:

    I’m certainly no hater of McDonald’s. As a matter of fact, I love their new Iced Mochas a lot! Good stuff. And for a regular cup of Coffee, McD’s has a good blend!

    Actually my very favorite cup of coffee is offered at my favorite local coffee shop. It’s called “Jazzy Java” and it is a blend of hazelnut & vanilla – and it’s perfectly balanced, bold, and delicious with 1/2 & 1/2 and splenda!!!

    I am a Starbucks fan because they were my first brush with coffee shops. I was a Barnes & Noble fan first, and the smell from the cafe pulled me in and I’ve been a SERIOUS coffee fan ever since!!! Who can resist a good book and a delicious Venti White Chocolate Mocha with Caramel? =)

  17. donna o Says:

    I have to say, I do not have a fav coffee blend. I simply love coffee. I love it hot or cold. I love it in cake and on ice-cream and IN ice-cream. I love it in tiramisu. I ESPECIALLY love it on a cold morning. It doesn’t even have to be caffinated!!!
    Thanks for giving me something to think about regarding my coffee!

  18. Rachel Anne Says:

    I live for my first two cups of coffee in the morning. The third is just for good measure. I always buy Folger’s Columbia Roast (med-dark) and it’s pretty darn good. I just can’t bring myself to buy super expensive coffee unless we have house guests or I’m really needing a personal splurgey pick-me-up.

    I might need an “afternoon” cup right now!

  19. Susi Maiyer Says:

    I love the flavored coffees – hazelnut, french vanilla, mocha. This weekend at a high school girlfriend get-together, one of the girls brought a Keurig machine. It was quite interesting however I didn’t like that fact that when you cup of coffee gets cold, you have to microwave it, as there is no hot pot sitting nearby from which to warm up your coffee. However, it was fun to pick from the little coffee tubs, etc. At a price of over $200, I think I’ll stick to my old standby drip coffee maker:)

  20. TheQueenMommy Says:

    Yes – the price of the Keurig (depending on which you get) can be ridiculously high and I could never rationalize paying for the top model. Some of the lower end models are what Hamilton Beach Brewers used to cost, so I am just waiting for the prices to drop.

    They are slick, though, aren’t they?


Comments are closed.

